Home Speakers Registration Call for Abstract Important Dates Location Contact

About the Department


The Department of Chemistry was established in the year 1965. The Department offers B.Sc. and M.Sc. Programmes under Choice Based Credit System besides M. Phil and Ph.D. Programmes. The thrust areas of research are Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Electrochemistry, Corrosion Inhibitors, Nano-materials, Biosensors, Environmental Chemistry, Coordination Chemistry, Conducting Polymers, Natural Products Chemistry, Porphyrin Chemistry and Supramolecular Chemistry. The Department is additionally funded by DST under FIST and UGC under SAP Programmes. The Department has also undertaken many research projects funded by DST, DBT, CSIR, UGC, BRNS and DRDO. The faculty members of this Department have published over 900 research papers in peer-reviewed journals. More than 120 scholars have been awarded doctoral degrees from this department.